|$475 Cost of Abe Lee Seminars Pre-License Course|
|$61 Fee to PSI Exams to take the Hawaii Real Estate Exam|
|$282 to $382 Initial Licensing Fees to
State of Hawaii - depending on year, |
For details, check: https://cca.hawaii.gov/reb/applicationregistration-fees/
|**Fees subject to change.|
Does Not include Realtor Association dues or Multiple Listing Fees if applicable.
No individual shall be eligible for the licensing examination unless the individual has earned a high school diploma or its equivalent by the State examination date, is a United States citizen, a United States national, or an alien authorized to work in the United States, and of the age of majority (18), and has satisfactorily completed a commission-approved prelicensing course for real estate salesperson or broker, or its equivalent as determined by the commission. You must also take and pass the State licensing exam; make written application for your license; and pay the appropriate fees. As a "Salesperson" you must "hang" your license with an existing brokerage company and conduct your real estate activities under the supervision of the firm's Principal Broker. Or, you may apply for your license and place it directly on an "inactive" status.Back to Top
Salesperson: The education requirement for the salesperson license examination shall be satisfied by successful completion of a curriculum in real estate at an accredited institution, consisting of a minimum of 60 hours and conforming to the approved curriculum for salesperson adopted by the commission or such equivalent education or experience as shall be determined by the commission. The Abe Lee Seminars Independent Study Pre-Licensing Course satisfies these requirements.
Broker: The education requirement for the broker license examination shall be satisfied by successful completion of a curriculum in real estate at an accredited institution, consisting of a minimum of 80 class hours and conforming to the approved curriculum for brokers adopted by the commission or equivalent education or experience as shall be determined by the commission. A "class hour" as used in this section means sixty minutes of classroom instruction.Back to Top
The real estate commission may grant an equivalency to the respective education requirements for applicants for the salesperson and broker license examinations for:
Those who hold a current license that was active within one year immediately prior to the date of application as a salesperson or broker in another state with similar or superior education requirements as determined by the commission;
Graduates of an accredited law school;
Bachelor of arts or bachelor of science degree graduates of accredited colleges and universities who have majored in real estate or business;
Those who have successfully completed at least six semester credits in real estate, business, business law, real estate development, or finance courses at an accredited college or university; and
Those who have received a professional designation and recognized certificates of completion as accepted by the commission including a GRI designation; certificate in advanced real estate from the University of Hawaii, small business management program.
All requests for equivalency to the educational requirements shall be submitted in writing, together with all supporting documents of an official nature to the Hawaii Real Estate Commission, 335 Merchant Street #333, Honolulu, Hawaii 96813 for its review, prior to filing the application for examination.Back to Top
Anyone considering applying for a real estate license should resolve all outstanding tax obligations with the Hawaii Department of Taxation prior to submission of an application and preferably prior to taking the prelicensing course and licensing examination.Back to Top
In order to receive a course completion certificate from Abe Lee Seminars, students will be required to:Review the Online Pre-Licensing Process
Overview of the real estate business, license laws, property description and characteristics, real estate economics, real property interests, forms of and transfer of ownership, land use controls, law of agency, law of contracts, working with the standard Hawaii form Purchase Contact, mortgage concepts, real estate financing, real estate valuation, real estate taxes and reporting requirements, deeds and other means of acquiring property, closing and settlement procedures, landlord tenant code, real estate property management and leasing, fair housing and consumer protection and ethics and real estate regulations.Back to Top
Students may complete the course at their own pace within the 6 months provided. An online course extension can be requested in writing to firstname.lastname@example.org on or after the expiration date. The extension cost will be $75. The extension time of 6 months will be added to the original course expiration date. The course materials will be an additional $60 The State requires a student to reasonably expend 60 hours in completing the course for certification. A student on Kauai finished the course in a week. That is extraordinary. Depending on a student's urgency, and their other time commitments to family and employment, completion time varies widely. Typical is 45-90 days.Back to Top
The minimum passing grade on each Module Test and each section of the Course Final is 70% for Sales Candidates. We recommend that the student set a goal of obtaining scores in the 80% range on each of the Module Tests. They can then rest assured that they will be well prepared for the Course Finals and the Hawaii Real Estate Exam.Back to Top
It usually indicates that the student needs to invest more reading and study time before they attempt a Module Test:
|Go back to the textbook and read the information in the Module again;|
|Retake the quiz at the end of each of the chapters in the Module;|
|Review the online Module Outline at the Preview/Review section of the Student Center;|
|Review the answers that were incorrect from the first attempt at the Module Test.|
The student will first need to find a test proctor, (someone not related) that will be present during the online testing. The test proctor must sign an affidavit verifying the identity of the student and the validity of the testing process. A friend, business associate, real estate broker, title or escrow officer etc.
The course finals include two sections that are graded independently. Minimum passing score on each section is 70% for Sales candidates. The Uniform Portion includes questions about real estate in general throughout the United States; and the State Portion includes specific questions relating to Hawaii rules and regulations. You may elect to take them on separate days.Back to Top
We suggest you schedule the state real estate exam soon after completion of our course; however, the certificate from Abe Lee Seminars is effective for a period of two years from passing the Prelicensing Course, allowing you to take the licensing exam any time during that period.Back to Top
The State Real Estate Licensing Examination program is administered by PSI Exams, under contract with the Hawaii State Real Estate Commission. Click here to review the PSI Candidate Information BulletinBack to Top
Yes, PSI Exams offer test centers outside of Hawaii.Back to Top
Anyone who successfully passes the Salesperson exam must apply for their license in writing within two years of the exam date, or their test scores will be declared invalid, and they must retake the test and the pre-licensing course to obtain an updated certificate of course completion. It is possible to apply for a license and have it placed directly on "inactive" status, but the same licensing fees are required.Back to Top
Please allow at least 15-20 State business days from the date you submit your completed application, along with the appropriate fees to the Hawaii Real Estate Commission.Back to Top
The State requires a student to reasonably expend 60 hours in completing the course for certification. Students must also pass the class final exam to be certified. Minimum passing grade for sales candidates is 70%.Back to Top
Course (Home Study): No refunds or withdrawals
once the materials have been shipped from our office. No
substitution of students. No transfer from Independent Study to Classroom.
Live Webinars Sessions - please refer to the Live Webinar Registration Information and Disclaimer.
The instructor attempts to respond to email within 24 hours. However, if the email is received after business hours, on weekends or holidays it may take a bit longer.Back to Top